

Editorial



Successful maiden SCRAMJET Engine experimental flight test mounted on a two stage Advanced Technology Vehicle (ATV) by the India Space Research Organisation (ISRO), is a remarkable achievement in the area of Propulsion System for its future missions. The Scramjet Propulsion is a viable propulsion in Space Transportation and in Hypersonic Missiles. It enhances the potential for low cost advanced propulsion system for ISRO's future missions.

This publication on **"Scramjet Flight Testing"** is a Special Issue of the Journal of Aerospace Sciences and Technologies contains technical papers from ISRO Scientists covering various aspects of the Design and Development of Scramjet System including the various challenges during the course of its development.

The Editorial Committee considered all the sixteen papers received and put through a thorough review process before deciding to accept them. On behalf of the Editorial Committee, we take pleasure in thanking all the authors for their contribution, patient co-operation and support in finalising the publication.

The Editorial Committee expresses its appreciation to Smt Chandrika R Krishnan, Shri AKM Kumaran, Journal Office, AeSI for their excellent support in formatting the papers and proof reading. It also expresses deep appreciation to Shri R Hemanth Kumar to design the cover page and other members of the staff for their support. The Editorial Committee expresses its appreciation and thank Shri V Krishnamoorthy, Director, Repromen Offset Printers Pvt Ltd, Bangalore for his coordination and bringing-out the Special Issue on time.

Editorial Committee for Special Issue :

Dr K Sivan Chairman Indian Space Organisation Department of Space Bangalore	Shri S Somanath Director Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre Thiruvananthapuram	Dr S Unnikrishnan Nair Programme Director Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre Thiruvananthapuram
Shri Lazar T Chitilappily Group Director Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre Thiruvananthapuram	Dr R Balasubramaniam Editor Journal of Aerospace Sciences & Technologies The Aeronautical Society of India Bangalore	Dr S Kishore Kumar Associate Editor and DRDO Fellow (GTRE) Journal of Aerospace Sciences & Technologies The Aeronautical Society of India Bangalore
Dr P Raghothama Rao Associate Editor Journal of Aerospace Sciences & Technologies The Aeronautical Society of India Bangalore	Shri T Sivamurugan Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre Thiruvananthapuram	Dr SLN Desikan Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre Thiruvananthapuram
Shri Gnanasekar Vilman Sarabbai Space Contro		

Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre Thiruvananthapuram