Editorial

The International Seminar has become a prelude to the binniel event Aero India. In keeping with this tradition Aero India 2017 International Seminar has the theme "Aerospace: Technology Collaboration and Self Reliance". The Journal of Aerospace Sciences and Technologies, as on earlier occasions, has decided to bring out a Special Issue with the selected papers from the presentations in the Seminar covering a wide range of topics.

While the Editorial Committee of the Special Issue wanted to include as many papers as possible, it has liberally chosen 29 papers after a review. The Editorial Committee believes these papers will enrich the pursuit of the aeronautical and aerospace community in their efforts for excellence in playing their roles and reading the objectives of the theme of the International Seminar.

We take great pleasure in thanking all authors and contributors for making it possible to bring out this Special Issue in time. The Editorial Committee expresses its appreciation to Shri RD Gautam, Shri J Sankar Kumar, Shri C Kishore Kumar Shri Sreelal Sredhar, Air Cmde Jaya Kumar, Dr S Ramachandra, Gp Capt Eshwar Subramaniam, Shri ANV Rao, Shri BVA Patnaik, Dr T Venkatakrishnaiah from GTRE, Dr S Rajagopal, ADE and Dr K Santosh, ADA for their invaluable support. The Editorial Committee records its appreciation to Smt Chandrika R Krishnan, for her excellent work in formatting the papers, Shri R Hemanth Kumar and Shri AKM Kumaran for their support in proof reading. The cover design is executed by Shri R Hemanth Kumar. A special feature of this Special Issue is the incorporation of QR code designed and implemented by Shri AKM Kumaran of the Journal Office. The QR code provides the readers to access previous published papers of Aero India International Seminar Special Issues and enable them to procure copies and preprint of the same. We do hope that the Special Issue brought out will enhance the pursuit of knowledge in the area of aeronautical and aerospace sciences and technologies.

Editorial Committee for Special Issue:

Dr CP Ramanarayanan DS & Director General (Aeronautical Systems) ADE Campus, CV Raman Nagar Bangalore

Shri MZ Siddique Outstanding Scientist & Director Chairman, Organising Committee Aero India International Seminar 2017 Gas Turbine Research Establishment (GTRE) CV Raman Nagar, Bangalore

Dr G Sivaramakrishna Scientist Gas Turbine Research Establishment (GTRE) CV Raman Nagar, Bangalore

Shri David John Scientist Gas Turbine Research Establishment (GTRE) CV Raman Nagar, Bangalore Dr R Balasubramaniam Editor Journal of Aerospace Sciences & Technologies The Aeronautical Society of India Bangalore

Dr S Kishore Kumar Associate Editor & DRDO Fellow (GTRE) Journal of Aerospace Sciences & Technologies The Aeronautical Society of India Bangalore

Dr P Raghothama Rao Associate Editor Journal of Aerospace Sciences & Technologies The Aeronautical Society of India Bangalore