Brief History

The Aeronautical Society of India was founded in 1948. It was inaugurated by Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru, the then Prime Minister of India on 17 November 1948. He was also the first Patron-in-Chief of the Society. The Society Headquarters Building at 13 – B, Indraprastha Estate, New Delhi – 110 002 was also inaugurated by Pt. Jawaharlal Nehru in 1963.


The objective of the Society is to promote the advancement and diffusion of the knowledge of aeronautical sciences and aircraft engineering as well as elevation of the aeronautical profession.


Over the years, the Society has grown into a major professional body in the field of aeronautics, aviation and aerospace. The Society has 19 Branches at all the important centers of aviation in the country viz., Agra, Bangalore, Calcutta, Chandigarh, Chennai, Goa, Hyderabad, Kanpur, Kochi, Mumbai, Nasik, Nagpur, Pune, New Delhi, Sunabeda and Thiruvananthapuram, KanyaKumari & two special centers CFD Division & Design Division at Bangalore.

Its membership of more than 14,000 is drawn from all major aeronautical establishments such as Hindustan Aeronautics Limited, DGCA, Defence Research and Development Establishments, Academic Institutions, Aeronautical Development Agency, Indian Air Force, Indian Space Research Organization, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, National Airport Authority of India, Air India, Pawan Hans and aero industry in private sector. The Society has 63 Corporate Members from both national and international sectors.

Other Activities of the Society

(a) The Society's activities include fraternization amongst professionals, promotion of aeronautical activities and policy and increased awareness of indigenous/ international information/events through lectures, workshops and seminars on subject of interests.

(b) The Society encourages young professionals in pursuance of their efforts in attaining excellence and get financial support to enable them to participate in high tech seminars at international levels.

(c) The student members are encouraged and awarded with cash prizes for outstanding performance in the Associate Membership Examination.

(d) The Society provides, centralized library facilities to its members and student members at its Headquarters and number of Branches.

(e) The Society encourages and promotes writing of books on aeronautical/ aerospace science subjects by Indian authors. Adequate financial support is provided for writing, publishing and marketing of these books.

(f) The Society conducts Annual Essay Competition to recognize and encourage talent amongst students, engineers and scientists and prizes are awarded to the winners.

(g) The Society confers number of prestigious awards for outstanding contributions/achievements made by individual or team of individuals in fundamental/applied research in the field of aviation and aerospace, every year.